Crime Victims’ Compensation is a financial assistance program that reimburses eligible victims of crime for certain expenses related to the crime.
- A victim of a violent crime
- The crime must have occurred in Texas, to a US resident or, or the crime occurred in another state with no benefits to a Texas resident
- Crime must be reported to a law enforcement agency within a reasonable period of time.
- Complete a CVC application within 3 years of the date of the crime.
- The victim must cooperate with law enforcement.
- Medical and mental health care
- Loss of wages due to participation in the prosecution
- Crime scene clean-up, replacement of items seized as evidence
- Relocation expenses (victims of family violence, human trafficking, stalking, and sexual assault occurring in victim’s home.)
- Sexual Assault Forensic Exam (reported to law enforcement or not)
- Other items may be covered
Maximum Allowable Benefit
A victim may receive is $50,000. Categories of expenses may have a lower maximum benefit available.
How to Apply
VAN coordinator and victim’s services with the prosecuting attorney’s office can assist victims in completing the CVC application.